Owen Sound Election 2018

hub-logo-white

Jacquie Furtner

1. Please share any relevant employment or volunteer experience you have in the arts and culture sector.
I have a diploma in Interior Design and have spent 6 years operating barebirch, a home décor business. We have supported local artists in our store whenever the opportunity arises. Our built environment impacts our ability to be active and connect with our community and I will continue to advocate for art in public spaces.

2. What concrete actions would you recommend/support to improve the atmosphere & aesthetic of the downtown?
Negative perceptions and lack of connection are barriers we have to overcome. Aesthetically, making small incremental improvements that build on each other to create a more appealing space is the best way to go. It is financially sustainable and can include initiatives to work around landmarks as well as improve the streetscape, such as: working with building owners and businesses to improve their facades, programmed public spaces, public washrooms, outdoor cafés and inviting gateway signage.

3. What specific actions do you recommend for preventing another situation such as that with the Tom Thomson Gallery?
I have been advocating for more collaboration amongst the city, its committees and the public. If we are all working together, there are more opportunities for catching potential problems.

4. Where do you feel Owen Sound’s greatest opportunities lie for promoting our arts, community and cultural assets?