arlenewright-featureBy Anne Finlay-Stewart

And then there were two...
Only two people have filed nomination papers to run for Owen Sound city council in the October 27 election, and both of them want the same job – deputy mayor.

It will be the first time the city has had this position on the ballot, having created it in 2012 to replace the former city/county councilor position, following this election.

Arlene Wright, three-term city councillor and twice Grey County Warden, has reversed her decision to retire from local politics at the end of this term. Since she announced in 2012 that "it's time we had new people on council," people have been "knocking on my door, and asking me to run," Wright says. She believes she has something left to contribute especially in the role of deputy mayor, representing the city at Grey County council and committees.

"The city comes first, of course," Wright said in an interview, "but I am on the county's Transportation Master Plan Steering Committee and we are in the middle of planning which is very important to Owen Sound." She also cited the need for the support of the county's economic development decision-makers

in saving Owen Sound harbour.

David Adair says he is ready for the responsibilities of deputy mayor after five terms on Owen Sound city council. He cites the new recreation centre as a project that is already showing "a return on this investment with new growth."

The city's future financial stability relies, Adair says, on "finding ways to grow our assessment." Working as deputy mayor to represent the city's interests at the County, he wants to help develop a "more regional approach to economic development and tourism, and a more modern governance structure."

Mayor Deb Haswell, who took the mayoralty from former mayor Ruth Lovell Stanners by a scant 41 votes, has indicated her intention to run for re-election and buzz has at least two others considering that race. No papers have been filed.

Neither have any incumbent councillors or competitors made it official.

Sitting council members are:

Ian Boddy, Jan Chamberlain, and Colleen Purdon, all elected for the first time in 2010.

Jim McManaman, serving his third term on council

Bill Twaddle, serving his fifth term

Peter Lemon, who has served 17 years on council

To check that you are on the voters' list and for details on how to get yourself on the ballot, click here .


CopyRight ©2015, ©2016, ©2017 of Hub Content
is held by content creators