Owen Sound Election 2018



- Anne Finlay-Stewart, Editor

We had to wait an extra 24 hours, but the numbers are in.
Ian Boddy returns as mayor, and Brian O'Leary will be deputy mayor. These two will also sit on Grey County Council.

Although there were six women candidates running, gender parity on council did not change, with newcomer Carol Merton joining as a councillor and Arlene Wright retiring as deputy mayor.

Brock Hamley and John Tamming are the other two new councillors elected.

For the first time since 1985, Peter Lemon will not be sitting at the council table. The rest of the incumbents running were re-elected.

The voter turnout with the new online and telephone system was 6,760 or 43.9% of electors, compared to 52% in the 2014 election.

The current council will be at their new table in the renovated city hall on October 29 and through November, with the new council holding their inaugural meeting December 3.

Jennifer Miller was elected to represent Owen Sound on the Bluewater District School Board.

 See full results, still unofficial, at the city website.


CopyRight ©2015, ©2016, ©2017 of Hub Content
is held by content creators